Accra. Nov. 7, GNA – Black Stars trio of Asamoah Gyan, Andre Dede Ayew and Kevin Prince Boateng have been short-listed for the 2010 CAF ‘Player of the Year’ award.

The trio will contend against seven other players including the reigning CAF Player of the Year, Didier Drogba for the most coveted individual honour in African football.

The nominees who were revealed by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) on their website, was determined by the Media, Technical and Football Committees of the continent’s soccer governing body taking into consideration the performance of the players from January to November 2010.

The trio have been in spectacular form for the Black Stars, especially Gyan, who for some time has been in the best form of his career at major competitions including the Africa Cup of Nations and the FIFA World Cup in Angola and South Africa respectively.

Other contenders include Ahmed Hassan (Al-Ahly and Egypt), Madjid Bougherra (Rangers and Algeria), Didier Drogba (Chelsea and Cote d’Ivoire), Samuel Eto’o Fils (Inter Milan and Cameroon), Mohamed Nagy ‘Gedo’ (Al-Ahly and Egypt), Salomon Kalou (Chelsea and Cote d’Ivoire) and Seydou Keita (Barcelona and Mali).

The winner will be decided by votes from the respective senior national teams’ Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the 53 National Associations affiliated to CAF.

Meanwhile, CAF has also nominated five players for the African-based Player of the Year, meant for only players playing in their domestic leagues.

They are Ahmed Hassan (Al-Ahly and Egypt), Oussama Darragi (Esperance and Tunisia), Alain Kaluyituka Dioko (TP Mazembe and DR Congo), Michael Eneramo (Esperance and Nigeria) and Mohamed Nagy ‘Gedo’ (Al-Ahly and Egypt).

The Awards Gala will be organized on December 20, 2010 in Cairo, Egypt.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.